What cats have an M on their forehead?

What cats have an M on their forehead?

Cats who have an M on their forehead are called tabby cats. They are known around the world for their unique fur coat pattern and somewhat distinct personality. Some people believe there’s a religious reason behind the forehead mark and others believe the M affects the cat’s behavior.

Even though there are different types of tabby cats, the one thing that makes them unique is the forehead mark. Some tabby cats have other marks throughout the body, others only have the M mark on their forehead.

There’s no reason to believe tabby cats are any different from normal cats – but tabby cat owners truly believe this type of cat is more intelligent, curious, and outgoing than others. The most famous tabby cat of all, Garfield, is quite the opposite!

What is the M on a cat’s forehead?

The M on a tabby cat’s forehead could be considered a birthmark of sorts. The M mark comes from a cat’s genetics; cats who have it are often linked to specific types of ancient cats. Funny enough, all domestic cats can be traced back to those ancient cats.

The thing about the M mark is that all cats have it – but not all cats have a distinguishable one. The tabby pattern is noticeable under certain fur coats, while others hide it away. So, it’s not a matter of having the M on the forehead, but being able to tell that it’s there.

It could also be divinely inspired! Christians believe the M comes from the time a cat comforted Christ on the day that he was born, and the mark appeared after Mary stroked that cat’s head in gratitude. Muslims, on the other hand, believe it appeared after a cat saved Mohammed from a poisonous snake.

Are tabby cats a breed?

Tabby cats are not a breed. What defines a tabby cat is the type of fur it has. The tabby pattern is easier to distinguish on certain fur coats – and it’s almost-invisible on others. Tabby cats have the first type of fur coat.

Even though the tabby cat isn’t a breed, certain cat breeds have more tabby cats than others. These are:

  • Maine moon cat
  • Abyssinian cat
  • Oriental cat
  • Domestic shorthair
  • American bobtail

These breeds have fur coats that are the most compatible with the tabby pattern. That’s not to say they are the only ones! All cat breeds can have a tabby pattern on them, but not all of them are noticeable.

What are the different types of tabby cats?

Tabby cats can feature five different patterns: classic, mackerel, ticked, spotted, and orange. Each one of them has something that makes them unique. The most common tabby type is the mackerel tabby cat.

All five types share the M on their forehead as a common trait, here are their differences:

  • Classic: Curvy lines throughout the sides of the body and butterfly-like patterns on the shoulders with a few stripes on the back.
  • Mackerel: Thin vertical lines across their body plus some smaller stripes alongside the face, shoulders, and neck.
  • Ticked: Doesn’t have stripes or lines of any kind but random colored spots throughout the body.
  • Spotted: Has vertical lines similar to the mackerel but broken down into spots that follow a pattern.
  • Orange: Has orange and white spots throughout the body, sometimes feature a line throughout the stomach.

Comments are closed.